• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

A World Without Pickups

And no, I don’t mean the “Hey, baby, wanna get lucky?” kind. I’m talking Fords, Chevys, big ol’ Dodge Rams. I just went three full days without seeing a single pickup truck.

Where on earth could this kind of insanity happen, you ask?

Yep, that’s New York. The Big Apple. This hick’s been in the city, and I gotta say…I loved it.

First off, there’s a bakery on every corner. Pastries. Red velvet cupcakes. Flan. Bagels. Let me stop now before I drown my keyboard in drool. There is also this thing called lunch delivery, by which a single slice of cheese pizza and a Pepsi miraculously appear at your door.

It is also the only place I’ve ever been where everybody walks as fast as me. My entire life I’ve had people trailing along in my wake, glaring at my back because I can’t seem to pace myself. In New York I had to stride out a little to keep up, even with my friend Juliet’s kids along for the stroll. Oh yeah. I could live here.

Except there are no pickups.

It makes sense, when you think about it. What use does a New Yorker have for a vehicle with an open box? Anything you leave in there is going to either get soaked or disappear as soon as you park and walk away. Or possibly at the next stoplight. I assume that’s why even the construction workers drive vans.

So yeah, it makes sense. But sadly, that puts paid to my brief fantasy of having a twenty four hour bakery across the street from my office. I simply can’t exist in a world without pickups. Sure was delicious while it lasted, though.

Kari Lynn Dell – back in Montana for Real

7 Responses

  1. Funny. And true enough! Great post!

  2. You had me at “bakery.” Last summer, I spent 11 days in NYC. I downloaded a cupcake app into my iPhone and went to a different bakery ALMOST every day. I finally got hooked on Magnolia:-) One day I walked four miles (2 there, 2 back) to get a Key Lime cupcake from Sprinkles, which they ended up not having that day!!!

    I loved NYC, but I was soooo ready to get back to my rural roots–yep, pick-ups and all:-)

  3. I’m with you Kari, great place to visit, but . . .
    I do miss the Deli’s back East though. But it’s worth it, not to own a snow shovel!

  4. Welcome home!

    I have to go with Laura…NYC is a great place to visit FOR A LIMITED TIME, but I’m ready to go home when it’s time. For me a long weekend (4 days or so) is perfect for NYC, then I want to go home to trees, my truck, grass, a traffic jam is 10 cars, and my big yard.

    Love the pics, Kari!

  5. Now I feel challenged to look for pickups when I go to NYC next time. LOL

    • Hah. I did see a few out on Long Island, but none in Manhattan.

      Oddly enough, I was more comfortable in the city as far as feeling hemmed in than out in CT or on Long Island. There are so many trees and the roads wind around so much I had no sense of direction, which drove me nuts. If you’d dumped me off a mile from either of the places I stayed I never would have been able to find my way back without GPS. In the city I had the street grid for a frame of reference so after the first day I felt pretty comfortable finding my way from Grand Central to Penn Station to FinePrint Lit, etc. I would have liked another day or two just to walk around Manhattan and see more of the sights, but I was definitely ready to get home to my boys.

  6. What? No pickups?? That just doesn’t even compute for this Texas girl. LOL I’ve never been. 😦 Loved that movie, “The Cowboy Way,” with Woody Harrelson and Kiefer Sutherland. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

