Operation Kindergarten Completion

Tomorrow is my son’s last day as a kindergartner. I can hardly believe we made it. The year has been nothing if not interesting, and I’m fairly sure we got a lot more educated than the kid.

However, given that we are the same parents who managed to forget the child at daycare on at least three occasions while we lived in Oregon, we did pretty damn good. My husband didn’t once fail to show up at the bus stop, although there were a couple of occasions when he had to drive really fast. And there was only that once when I was eyeball deep in work and suddenly realized it was five past when I was supposed to pick the kid up from his school. As far as I know, he was fully dressed every day and most of the time we even remembered his gloves.

Best of all is this:

We started the year with a backpack and a lunchbox, nicely matched. On the first day of school the boy was issued a folder in which all of his papers and school announcements and such were to travel back and forth between us and his teacher. I am proud to announce that yes, those ARE the same backpack, lunchbox and folder from the beginning of the year.

Not only did we manage to keep track of the folder, there was only one day that it went missing and didn’t make the trip to school, but we located it that night in the belly of our recliner couch. A close call given that the same couch has crunched up several CDs, a Mario Kart game and the external hard drive for my laptop. Note that the folder is not torn, chewed or trampled. It has not been taped, stapled or otherwise patched. It is, in fact, darn close to pristine.

We get a gold star for that, right?

Kari Lynn Dell – Montana for Real

Go ahead and chime in. What’s your proudest accomplishment of the last school year? Or any school year, as far as that goes!

22 Responses

  1. Just had my last day as a Kindergarten mommy as well. We went through two backpacks, but kept the red folder all year. After he got off the bus, we removed the K sticker from our mailbox for the last time. Next year, when he goes FULL DAY, I’m going to have mimosas as soon as the bus pulls away. You’re invited!

    • No kids but can I just show up for the mimosas?

    • Due to the distance many of the kids have to travel to get into town, we had full day kindergarten. Since I have an office job it didn’t make much difference to me, but hubby definitely cracked a beer that first day we headed off to school since, being as how he was home with the kid on the ranch every day.

  2. Kudos on keeping up with that folder!! I haven’t managed to do that yet. Despite that, I have three proud moments from this school year. My first grader got a note early on telling me he should be on a J reading level by the end of the school year and was already on L. I got several more notes ending with a 4.0 GPA and a third grade reading level. My seventh grader also finished the year above his grade reading level. He ended on a freshman level. Obviously they have inherited my love of words.

    • That’s cool. My kid is all about numbers. He’s doing second grade math and his reading level is good, but given a choice he’ll play numbers or science games instead of reading.

  3. You deserve a gold star and a happy dance. Now just twelve more years and he’s is off to college! You should save that backpack and give it to him as a high school graduation gift because you will be coming to pick him up from school again. Well, at least that was my experience.

  4. WooT! You and hubby survived kindergarten! So proud of you! 🙂

    Oh, and kiddo did great too 🙂

    I have a picture of me standing on the front porch on the first day of first grade. Does everyone else have one too?

  5. One down, 12 more to go! Wooo Hoo! So glad I survived that time…I know you will too. Better start brushing up on Algebra, though.
    tee hee.

  6. Gold Star!

    And, yeah, it gets worse before it gets better because now you have to start teaching him how to remember all my hims little self to pack the folder, papers, lunch etc. And, man, that’s a hard lesson to learn. We’re still learning it in 7th grade 🙂

    Have a fun summer before it begins yet again.

    • Gah. He won’t even attempt to make sure he has his handheld video game as he goes out the door. Prefers to whine for an hour about how the drive to town is so boring.

  7. My youngest grandson just “graduated” to kindergarten after 3 years in Pre-K. When the teacher was ill, he was the substitute–LOL!
    Congratulate yourself on a job well-done. I’ve had 8th graders who couldn’t keep up with a backpack and folder for a year.

  8. I’d say you deserve lots of those little gold stars! We still have trouble keeping the same lunchbox all year, and folders? Are you kidding…we go through at lease five per kid. LOL Kindergarten is a distant memory, but it was truely the toughest one for me so far. Next up. Graduation. Off to pout and find a tissue now! sniff..sniff.

    • Some might say the folder could have used a little more wear and tear. Mommy wasn’t quite as diligent about dragging it out every night as I should be. Next year there will be homework. Ugh.

  9. Nice work! many gold stars for you! Young bean that I am (heh) I can still remember the muttered frustrations of ripping a folder.

    ahh..the fun of all this starts next year. son can’t wait! but I’m more excited. 8-3…omg, what am I going to do with myself? *toasts*

  10. Congratulations! I’m most impressed with the folder thing. Can’t say we ever made it that far. I’m usually replacing everything midway through the year. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

