Fancy Feet – Not so Fancy Anymore

We interrupt our regularly scheduled blog so Melissa can moan and groan!

Although I’ve known this was inevitable, I put it off for years and tried the denial approach for as long as I could. Well, the wishful thinking is over.

Please believe me when I say those cute high heels really aren’t worth all the discomfort and havoc they might cause in your future. What I wish someone would have told me…Don’t put fashion over pain.  Being a girl doesn’t require this kind of torture on a daily basis and the end result is way too high a price to pay.

Today I am off to have the first of two bunion surgeries this summer. Glup. My poor feet just can’t take the pressure of merely walking anymore. Even after not wearing heels for over ten years, my feet have continued to get worse. At some point, we must listen to our bodies and do whatever it takes to stay healthy and mobile.  I think that is going to be the hardest part for me. Being down and unable to move around like usual. I’ll be in a not so fancy boot for four weeks, and then hopefully after the second foot is done and recovery is over around the end of August, I’ll be walking, running and dancing again. And you can bet I’ll be paying alot more attention to the shoes I wear from here on out.

So wish me luck as I start out on this new adventure today. Yep, I must think of it as an adventure. Research even. Then, maybe, just maybe I won’t beat myself up or have that ever looming panic attack.

Anyone else go through this? Have any recovery tips to share? I could really use some “Look at the bright side” statements here.

10 Responses

  1. I’m right behind you, Melissa. I refuse to go to the Podiatrist, because I know what he’ll tell me. How dumb are we women that we contort our bodies for fashion? And we laugh at bound feet? We’re not so different! You don’t see men wearing things that hurt. I’m just saying…

    The upside? The drugs, of course! Enjoy them!

  2. Good luck Melissa, it will be worth it at the end. This is from someone who has a torn medial meniscus and is avoiding the surgery. Let me know if I can help.

  3. Ouch ouch ouch! I had surgery to remove bone spurs between my big toe and the next toe…on both feet! these were either caused or made worse by my pointy-toed, high heel shoes I walked around in. It wasn’t a fun surgery but man did my feet feel better when those spurs were gone.

    I have a bunion on my right foot. I don’t wear tight or uncomfortable shoes any more and yet it is getting worse. I figure it started back with those damned high-heels. I will probably die with this thing on my foot since I never go anywhere (but church) that requires me to dress up.

    True story…I was working on my WIP the other day and typed “high-hell” shoes! Freudian slip? LOL

    But you have my hugs on the surgery. You’re feet will thank you

  4. I guess this is one more advantage to being a cowgirl and a sports medicine professional: I’ve had to spend the majority of my life in comfortable shoes.

  5. Hello, I’m Pam and I’m addicted to shoes–especially high heels. High, high heels. I’m short. 5’2 (::sniff:: I ignore the dr’s insistence that I’m only 5’1 1/2), and I love the height those shoes give me. But I do spend most of my time in flipflops and sneakers, saving the shoes only for dress-up, which isn’t often. I refuse to wear the ones with the extreme pointy-toes, though. Cramming the widest part of my extremely narrow foot (triple A width) into the narrowest part of the show has never made sense to me.
    ((((hugs))) on the surgeries.

  6. I’m thinking I’m glad I have plump feet. LOL.

    Oh, poor Mel. I’m so sorry you have to have surgery…but there are plenty of cute flat sandals and little ballet flats. You’ll still be pretty and fashionable.

    I wish you all the best for your surgery and hope you heal quickly.

  7. I’m so sorry you have to go through this, Melissa! But I heartily second your advice.

    My great-grandmother used to work in a shoe factory, and she always warned us all to take care of our feet. She was still walking all over the city at well over 80 years old.

    I worked in a full-service shoe store in college and spent hours every day instructing women to buy the right size shoes. It boggles my mind to see people wearing shoes that are probably 2.5 sizes too small. And the new platform heels? Forget it!

    I wear heels twice a year at most: National, and my husband’s holiday events for work. Everything else is ugly but comfortable. 🙂

  8. *clutches shoes to her chest* you’ll never take them from me with me alive!!!!!!!!!!!!

    So sorry to hear what you’re going through Melissa. That really sucks. I used to wear heels a lot, but I dont’ go places any more where I need them now. I wear them once a day every six weeks or so. sometimes longer between. And I can feel it in my ankles at night when I’ve worn them.

  9. I gave up heels too many years ago to count, but then again, I never was into wearing them all the time or anything. Give a good pair of sandals or tennis shoes.

    Think of how good they will feel when you’re healed!!!!

    Rest and feel better!!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

