• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Fifty Shades Darker & Freed by E L James

Today, I will be reviewing the last two books in the Fifty Shades Trilogy.

First, Fifty Shades Darker also known as the second book in the series.  I have found that a lot of the women reading these books don’t want people to know they are reading them.  Which was kind of funny to me at first, then after reading the first one I was kind of glad I was reading it on my iPad so people wouldn’t see me holding the silly thing.

Book Description:

Daunted by the singular tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house. 
 
But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.
 
While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.

 

Book Description:

When unworldly student Anastasia Steele first encountered the driven and dazzling young entrepreneur Christian Grey it sparked a sensual affair that changed both of their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and, ultimately, repelled by Christian’s singular erotic tastes, Ana demands a deeper commitment. Determined to keep her, Christian agrees.
 
Now, Ana and Christian have it all—love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her Fifty Shades will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own identity. And Christian must overcome his compulsion to control as he wrestles with the demons of a tormented past.
 
Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to make Ana’s deepest fears turn to reality.

 

My Review:

My review of Fifty Shades of Grey wasn’t your typical review, and a few people pointed that out to me.  This review might be more typical as far as reviews go.  Might being the keyword here.

I want to start out by saying that E. L. James wrote a great story.  With that said, I think the whole story could have been told in one book or maybe two.

I was completely turned off by all of the erotic parts, and found myself skipping them to get to the good parts.  The good parts for me, were the suspense filled pages.  In my mind, I had solved all the mysteries and I was reading to see if I had it all right.

If you like books filled with page after page of erotica, then you will love these books.  The characters are beautiful, intelligent, and romantic.  Anastasia is portrayed as your typical woman, or I think she is portrayed as how some women see themselves.  Single women probably even wish something like this could happen to them, but not the suspense part.

Maybe that is why these books are so easy to get pulled into, and why you want to keep reading instead of doing your housework.  Or was that just me?  Maybe it’s because we want to read about the possibilities of romance, a filthy-rich man falling for a typical girl and treating her like a princess.  I’ve heard that these books have helped some couples in the bedroom, and that is great.  I bet they read these books more than once. 😉

I’m really kind of torn on how to rate these books.  I liked the first book, obviously or I wouldn’t have read the second one.  I liked the second one better than the first one, therefore I had to read the third one.  And I liked the third one, as well.  Instead of rating each book I am going to give the whole series three flaming hearts, and here’s why, as I’ve stated before I felt like there was too much sex and the story would have been just as good without all that.  I liked the mystery and suspense throughout the whole series, and I liked the characters.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

