Blueberries, Waffles and Golf – a day for the Forgotten

I know. Weird title, right?

So Monday was my youngest’s birthday. He turned 10 and I’m thinking that’s like the entry age for a Tween. So guess my baby’s not so much a baby anymore and with the oldest turning 13 on Sunday, I’m feeling a little old and a lot melancholy. I know everyone says to cherish the days because they grow up so fast, but “they” are right. It does go fast and I’m trying to juggle cherishing the boys with deadlines, laundry and bill paying.

But yesterday was all about Beebs (our nickname for him) and we did whatever he wanted that day…which wasnt’ much. That little guy – oh, excuse me, big boy – likes to fly beneath the radar. No singing at the restaurant, no friends over, no cake. Nothing. He’s the easiest kid as far as birthdays go because he DOES NOT like to draw attention to himself in any way. His idea of a horror movie is his name in lights and everyone looking at him. Forget about chainsaws and hockey masks. Beeb’s biggest fear is everyone looking at him. So no party. I had to sing at home. All he wanted was to eat waffles at IHOP and go to the movies that evening. Just me, him and his dad.

But funny thing is, the family is use to him being this way so sometimes they forget about him. And the person least likely to forget his birthday is the person who forgot it yesterday…my mom.

Mim (as the g-kids call her) has a special little relationship with Beebs. We all understand this. For some reason they are peas and carrots and my son will tell my mom more than he will tell me. She scratches his back, makes him special fruit salad and comes to almost all his baseball games. When Beebs was a toddler, he cried to go home with his Mim every time he saw her. They have a bond I’m so glad they share. But yesterday she forgot hsi birthday. Usually my mom calls and sings “Happy Birthday” to whoever’s birthday it is. So when he didn’t receive the call by 9:00, he said, “Let’s call her.” So I’m driving down the road (after the waffles) and he’s talking to his Mim, shooting the breeze, and finally after about five minutes of chitchat, he smiles and says, “I think you forgot something.” It was pretty funny because she freaked out.

Needless to say, as you’re reading this we’re at Mim and Poppa’s house eating waffles, or picking blueberries, or playing golf or eating red beans and rice or…well, you get the drift. There’s an apology coming Beeb’s way and it’s in the form of his favorite things. It’s an easy way to slow down and savor the time I have with him. After all, I’m the driver so I get the perks of the “apology.” So tomorrow in the midst of revisions on a book, another waiting on a short story and a new book waiting to be started, I’m driving to my parents for breakfast, berry picking and lunch…and all the cherishing of my new ten year old I can get.

I’ll eat some blueberries for you 🙂

Take time and smell the waffles, people. LOL.

How about you? Ever forgot an important event? How did you make it up to the person you slighted?

7 Responses

  1. Sometimes those “make-up” birthdays can be SOO much better than if the guilty party had remember the original date!

    YUM on the blueberries. Tasty and healthy. Who could ask for me?

    The gal who does my nails has a girl and a boy. When her girl turned 10, Tonya (nail tech) went into a real funk. Her little girl was no longer “single digits”…It was her first “wake-up” call that her little girl was growing up. Kind of cute!

    I notice you used “doting grandmother” as a tag. My material grandparents were doting. It was AWESOME! I miss them so much.

    Enjoy your day. And Belated Woo-Hoo Happy Birthday to Beebs!

    • Thanks for the comment, Cyndi, and, yes, I’m a little depressed about the years slipping by, but I’m also looking forward to all the things we can do together now that they’re getting old enough. .For example, both boys can now stay by themselves when I, say, need to go write at Starbucks. Nice, huh?

      Blueberries are yummy and bursting with flavor, though by the time they’re in a pie, they won’t be so healthy. 🙂

  2. Oh Liz, what a lovely post! Brings back memories. Enjoy every second – with your kids, AND your Mom. That goes fast too.

    • Exactly right, Laura. While the boys were golfing, Mom and I went to a farmers’ market and a feedstore/nursery. I came home with a watermelon, a quart bag of speckled butterbeans, squash, tomatoes and, of course, blueberries. And I picked up some caladiums for my pot that a possum or something destroyed.

      So, it was a morning well spent. Now, on to some revisions 🙂

  3. Happy birthday to the big guy! So far I don’t think I’ve forgotten an important day. my kid stays on top of that thing pretty well and he LOVES parties–especially birthday parties. And my hubby is making out his birthday wishlish ahead of time. 🙂

  4. Sounds like you all had a fantastic day! Happy birthday to Beebs!

    I’m sure I’ve forgotten something important, but I’ve blocked out the memory. They either forgave me or didn’t and that could be why some people aren’t as close to me as they used to be. LOL

    I haven’t been depressed about my kids (and therefore myself) getting older, but it does make me savor every single moment we spend together, and I’m super-grateful for things like City Islanders soccer games to help us maintain the bond.

  5. I don’t know if I forgot something important because I’ve already forgotten it. 🙂

    Great post as usual Liz!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

