Gators Have Teeth!

Boy, have I found some great and not so great shows these past few weeks. We recently switched from one cable provider to another and now have so many new channels and features I feel like I have a new toy.  A toy that makes my head spin at times. LOL Technology moves way too fast for me.

We can now record with one touch of a button on the remote. Fast forward, pause and watch shows on demand and the coolest thing of all is when the phone rings and the number pops right up on the TV screen. Take that solicitors! I don’t even have to get up to ignore you now.  🙂  To think, we’ve been living in the dark ages all this time. LOL I mean, we still have one of the dinosaur VCR’s and have been known to use it!  Shhh…don’t tell.

But have no fear. We have crossed over to the new age and I must say, I really love it. 🙂

After hours and days of channel surfing, my newest favorite show has to be
Gator Boys. These crazy guys catch live gators with their bare hands! One puts on his snorkel and gets into the ponds to hunt them down. That’s right, he actually swims with them, snags them with a rope on the end of a pole and then drags them out. Unbelievable. It’s as if these huge animals with all those sharp teeth are nothing more than little puppy dogs. I’m beyond shocked.

But I must say it it’s quite entertaining. Or maybe I’m just starting to lose it! Ha!

Do you embrace all this new technology? Or are you like me and fight it, hanging on to those cool gadgets we once thought of as cutting edge?

 

 

27 Responses

  1. I’m always behind. I always feel left out. I’m considering getting an iPhone and joining the Cult of Mac so that I can belong. But now I want my TV to tell me who’s calling. By the time mine does, you’ll be getting those numbers ported directly to your brain, won’t you?

  2. Melissa, I don’t watch much TV, but when I do, who has time for commercials? TiVo is the best thing invented since Spanks!

  3. All personal stuff has gone to the World of Mac, and I’ll never go back to Windoze. Ever! No iPhone yet; my cell phone is for phone calls, not editing a major motion picture..:) Finally broke down and got a GPS two years ago, but still drive a car that was made in 1994! DVDs have replaced VHS, but I still have a DVD/VHS combo unit for recording or transferring. Flat refuse to go to Blu_Ray: darned if I’ll replace my video collection a third time!

    DVR is nice, but I’ve noticed more and more networks are disabling the REV/FF function to skip commercials. Annoying, but not the end of the world!

    P.S. The new HBO series THE NEWSROOM (created and written by Aaron Sorkin of SPORTS NIGHT and THE WEST WING) knocked me out of my chair last night. Adult dialogue (*not* Cinemax Adult Dialogue, but real grown-up conversations), breaking news (won’t give away the Big One in the Pilot, but I will say my jaw dropped when they pulled that rabbit out of the hat), and a genuine sense of time and place. I loved it!

  4. I’m waiting for the technology that will “beem me” to the place I need to be in just seconds. It’s will probably made by Sony and I won’t be able to afford it in my lifetime.

    For now, FF commercials is awesome. Watching a show in 2/3rd of the time, wow!!. I even lost some ‘lbs’, no more breaks to the refrigerator. LOL

  5. We bought a cute little flat screen TV with built in DVD yesterday just to put in our camper, which means I can now at least get Red Box movies at my grocery store. One of these days the people in my head may even shut up long enough for me to watch an entire movie.

  6. I do like to have the latest technology BUT financially it’s not practical for me and hubby. As long as something works, we keep it. We just got a new TV last year (55″ LED LCD) We kept wanting for our old one to die but it wouldn’t (bought in 1995) so we finally gave it away.

    But now I want an 80 inch!

    I LOVE TiVo! And HD TV. And my smart phone.

    I would go Apple but I just HATE their policies.

  7. Theme Week strikes again! (You’ll understand when you see my post tomorrow. LOL)

    We got TiVo/DVR back in 2005 or something when we got DirecTV with NFL Sunday Ticket. One of those things we didn’t *need* but never want to do without now that we’ve had it. We’ve always recorded TV shows, but I LOVE being able to record three things at once (two downstairs, one in the bedroom) and watch when it’s convenient. FF during football games has become a MUST because as much of a believer as I am in advertising keeping my entertainment costs down, I don’t need to see the same commercials 540 times in three hours. 🙂

    But we do also have the VHS/DVD combo because we still have some old favorite movies on VHS, and more importantly, that’s the only way we can currently watch all the video of our kids when they were small.

    • Have those VHS moved to CD’s. the tape on the VHS will deteriorate over time. No matter what it costs, you’ll be glad you did.

    • I think the FF button will be the one that wears out the fastest, Natalie. LOL I’m going to have to spend an entire day trying to figure out all these great features.

      We will keep that VCR. All of our Disney movies are on VHS and someday I might just have grandbabies to watch them. Right now, I can’t see replacing them with new ones because like Will said, who knows what’s up next.

  8. I keep loosing monday in the week! With your phone/tv options (and knowing where you live), it sounds like you have Sudden Link.

    We (and by we, I mean the husband) watch Gator Boys. And Swamp People. And Swamp Loggers. And Ice Road Truckers. and Axe Men. Tanked and so on and so forth. You are just on the tip of the iceburg with Gator Boys LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

