• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

The Little Things

Recently my community of Colorado Springs suffered a fire that took two lives, demolished 347 homes and burned more than 18000 acres.  The destruction was surreal, the pulling together of my city topnotch.  And the blaze is now 80 percent contained thanks to firefighters and the planning of my city and community.  For me, this will be a terrible memory that I will look back on and think that was a close call.

Not so my friend who lost her home, and now must go through the painstaking process of rebuilding her life.  When the call came to evacuate, these people had less than 20 minutes to leave behind one of their most valued possessions–their homes.

Today when I went out shopping for her and her family, I looked at her list and was touched by one request.  If anyone can spare some sheet music, she wrote.  She teaches piano and lost her piano in the blaze.  I imagine music will be her solace.

I filled some of the items on her list with pleasure, unfortunately on the 4th of July the music stores were closed.  You can bet, I’m going to do my best to find her some sheet music.  Such a small simple request, but it’s the little things that will help her through this.

12 Responses

  1. If I had sheet music, it would be in the mail today! but alas, I don’t. I stopped playing the piano years ago and got rid of everything, including the piano and music.

    I can’t remember ever seeing such fires in all my life. So sad. We’ve had a few here in Arkansas but the fires have been knocked down fairly quickly.

    Maybe we can get the word out on Twitter for help.

    • I’m sharing this on my Facebook and have retweeted it. Where would we send the sheet music if we get replies? I am sharing this with my darling Teen. She might have some to donate as well.

      Such a devastating event. Fires and tornadoes. Loathe them and the destruction they cause.

  2. I saw Christine’s post on FB and came and read. I\’m so sorry for all you went through. I’m going to check around and see. We just gave away an old organ and I’m not sure what my husband did with the sheet music. I’ll check back later to see if there\’s someplace to send it.

  3. Just Tweeted this – hopefully a couple of my followers can help. My heart goes out to all of them…

  4. I’ve passed it around quite bit. Hopefully you have some coming in soon!

    Did she say anything about an age group for music?

  5. I’ll put this on FB, too. People want to help, sometimes they’re just not sure how. The simple, personal touch here puts a figurative face to the one in need. I hope many respond. Thanks for showing us how.

  6. I’m overwhelmed, I planned to do this by myself. This just goes to show there’s a lot of good in this world. Thank you!

  7. What kind is she looking for? Classical, Gospel, Rock?

    • I have e-mailed her to ask. Don’t know that she’s on line much right now. I’ll be back as soon as I can. Thank you!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

