Remembering Andy

Every adult of my age wanted Sheriff Taylor for a father. Wise. Calm. Loving.
This week, we lost one of the icons from my childhood.

Andy Griffith died this week. I took it hard. The Andy Griffith show was a staple in my house growing up. In fact, I’m pretty sure my dad owns most, if not every, episode of that show. When hubby and I are flipping channels and come across an old episode, we’ll stop and watch. It’s amazing how much of the “lesson” of the show is still valid today. It taught honesty, morality and love all the while not taking itself too seriously. I wonder how many of us laugh when we hear “Citizen’s arrest! Citizen’s arrest!”

And then there was Matlock. Another great show. Again, Andy played a character with heart.

The last thing I saw him in was the Brad Paisley’s video, Waiting on A Woman. Not great quality but enjoy!

What are your memories of this great man?

A good friend sent this to me tonight. Thought it was perfect.

5 Responses

  1. So sad. I have more memories of Andy Griffith from Matlock than Mayberry, but I loved how genuine, calm, and intelligent his character was.

  2. Very sad. I grew up watching a lot of Andy Griffith. I’ll stop and watch an episode of that just as fast as something else. The balance of everything on that show really just nailed it. The chemistry between the characters, the values. it was a show for adults and kids.

    Andy was just an easy actor to watch. Like Gwen said, just genuine, calm, and intelligent.

  3. I admit, I never watched much of Mayberry *or* Matlock. Regardless, Andy Griffith remains one of the biggest icons of my childhood, representative of innocence and wisdom. He leaves a legacy that will remain unmatched.

  4. I went to see my daddy a couple weeks ago and he was watching Andy Griffith. I got so distracted by the episode (Barney was in drag) I watched instead of visiting. I loved Andy Griffith R.I.P.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

