My Happy Place

Yesterday, I saved $1221 dollars. (Yes, I know it’s redundant to write out “dollars” AND post the dollar sign, but dangit, I SAVED $1221 DOLLARS!)

I went school shopping with my momma. Below is a picture of my haul, after it’s been mauled by three school-age sons:

This is only part of the $1221.00 I saved. You can see the $18 salmon-pink dress made of really stretchy material, which some of us need. You can see two or three $5 sweaters (did I mention they were only FIVE DOLLARS APIECE????). You can see bits and pieces of my stack of $8 bras (I wear a weird size, so when I find them on sale, I tend to hoard).

Oh–and I got some pants and shorts for the boys. Because, you know, we were back-to-school shopping.

I love this store. It’s clean and bright, and unlike my home, all the clothes are hung neatly. It’s only three miles from my house, so I could walk there if I have to (but I don’t. Did I mention that we brought home five bags of…um…school clothes?) The staff is friendly, kind and welcoming. I say, “Hey, I forgot my 15 percent off coupon,” and they say, “No problem. Have the discount anyway!”

And when the stars align, my momma comes to visit with Daddy and a 30% off coupon:

We go shopping for the kids.

“You need this dress,” I tell her.

“You think?”

“Sure. It’s only twelve bucks.”

“I dunno. I think it would look better on you.”

“Why don’t you get the lavender one and I’ll get the pink?”

…And so it goes. And $400 later (but ONLY $400 later) I have saved $1221 dollar bucks.

I collapse on the couch in bliss, not caring if I wrinkle my new Sheldon “Bazinga” t-shirt, because, hey–it was only $1.40 after discount.

Oh–wait. That one belongs to my son 😦

12 Responses

  1. I could feel your enthusiasm for your shopping trip. For me, I’d rather have my teeth cleaned than go shopping! However I do love shopping with my mother. She’s patient, and can shop me to death! My husband–who I love more than anything–is a NIGHTMARE to take shopping. His idea of shopping is to go in, grab stuff off the sale rack in his size and leave! ARGH!

    That salmon-colored dress will look great on you! For RWA National?

  2. SCORE, Keri! The daughter of a die-hard shopper, it’s genetically impossible for me to pay full price for clothing. The best? When someone compliments you on your favorite blouse, and you tell them you got it for $10!

    It’s the little things in life, isn’t it?

    Enjoy that smug feeling!

  3. I’m not a mall person, but I love this kind of shopping: one store that has the kind of stuff I like and great sales.

  4. I wanna know what the store is!

    I hate shopping. I like buying, and I love bargains, but I hate shopping! My husband loves it. He’ll browse all day long. It drives me and the girls insane. We all want to get in, get what we want, and get out. So spending $400 on clothes is pretty tough (even with a savings of $1221 dollar bucks! LOL). We don’t stay long enough!

    Anyway, congratulations on the huge accomplishment!

    • Kohl’s, Baby. And the website is pretty good too–you can use the 30% off coupons at Kohls.com.

      • That’s always the first place I go when we need clothes! 🙂 They do have great deals, and the coupons are sent pretty constantly. My only complaint is that they don’t have enough of a selection in my size. It’s rarely stuff I like. 😦

  5. that’s crazy awesome! What store was that?

    My biggest save of late? scoring $27 dollar tennis court shoes that are usually $110.

  6. I knew the store before you said it!! LOL With two teenage girls, finding deals is a must! Love this store and their sales and coupons and Cash Back!! I’m always left wondering how the heck they actually make any money after we leave with our stash.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

