2012 Olympic Mania

It’s that time again.  The excitement, the adrenaline pumping and somehow oozing its way out of the TV and into your very own living room as you watch the athletes compete for the gold. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve liked to watch the gymnastics, but the swimming and tennis have been at the top of our family’s list this year so far. I have two playing tennis so that makes sense. Not sure why the swimming has captured our attention though.

I really had no idea there were so many different sports played in the Summer Olympics. I guess I just haven’t been paying enough attention in the past. Both my girls are really interested this year and are keeping us up to date on all the latest news and medal wins. I must say, that cool pause and record button on the new remote are sure getting one heck of a work out. LOL

In case you’re curious to see if your favorite sport is one of them, here’s a list – Archery, badminton, basketball, beach volleyball, boxing, canoe / kayak, cycling, diving, equestrian, fencing, field hockey, gymnastics, handball, judo, modern pentathlon (shooting, fencing, swimming, show jumping, and running), mountain biking, rowing, sailing, shooting, soccer, swimming, synchronized swimming, table tennis, taekwondo, tennis, track and field, triathlon (swimming, biking, running), volleyball, water polo, weightlifting, and wrestling.

Even the commercials have been entertaining. Have you seen the one where they share the torch by passing it on through their phones? LOL

Go Team USA! 🙂

Do you have a favorite or do you love to watch them all?

11 Responses

  1. Our family is enjoying the Olympic events, more than I expected. Every few minutes it seems, there is a roar in the house as they are pulling for another U.S. win. I can’t believe the physical abilities and strength of these athletes. They look like something out of a comic book. I truly envy their passion and discipline. I guess I’ll hit the local grocery store and pickup some more popcorn and sodas for the rest of the games. LOL

    BTW- There is a free ‘phone ap’ available that provides all the games and updates. Look for ‘Olympic 2012’

  2. Been watching off and on, but you have to admit, Her Royal Highness made one hell of an entrance…:)

  3. I prefer the ‘non-pro’ events. The ones you only seem to watch during the Olympics like diving and rowing. I can see basketball all year long so…meh. But give me a swimming relay and I’m in.

    • The swimming relays are so suspenseful! LOL I’m amazed at how fast and how long they can swim. Shoot, I’m lucky to just keep my head above the water long enough to reach the side. 🙂

  4. My daughter is in London at the Olympics! She’s having a fabulous time, keeping us posted via FaceBook. I’m way behind on the O-news since I didn’t have much time stay abreast of things last week with the RWA Conference keeping me in constant motion. This week I hope to be planted in front of the TV:-)

  5. Pam, that’s so cool for your daughter!

    I’ve always been a casual Olympics fan. I just don’t have time to watch! But my husband and kids pay attention, especially Number Two, and I get a few events in here and there. Whatever’s on the TV when I walk by is sure to snag me.

    Number Two was VERY into the archery and was heartbroken at our close loss.

  6. Melissa, a riveting moment here

Show us some love and leave a comment!

