• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

State Trivia Time

Ever wonder how the states were made, or drawn?

I know. That’s a question way out of left field, isn’t it? 🙂  I watched the most interesting show on the History channel yesterday. How the States Got Their Shape. Now I’m no history buff. I’m more like Chevy Chase in the movie, “National Lampoon’s Vacation.” Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel and see new places. I’m just not one to stand in awe for very long. Blame it on a short attention span. A mild case of ADD, maybe?

So when this show started, I figured it would keep my attention for at least a few minutes. I’m in shock. I ended up watching this program for hours. Talk about eye opening. I guess I always assumed the state’s boundaries were decided by the land’s geography, like mountain ranges, valleys or rivers. But instead, there were many different factors that helped decide. Like the great plains, trains and even automobiles. The others are so off the wall they are downright crazy. LOL

It’s been a really long time since I was in school and studied the layout of the land. I felt pretty confident when the show started that I had retained what I’d learned. But sadly, this was not the case. When they started asking people on the street to name or draw a state’s shape, I knew I was in big trouble. Ack! Fail! Then it was name all the states that border the Mississippi? If I remember right, he said there were eleven? Yikes! Another Fail! Followed by how about the four states that corners all meet in the middle? Huh? Is that even possible? Talk about a big wake up call.

So, I thought it would be fun to test you today. (Insert evil laugh here. 🙂

See if you can name these states and answer the following questions. No cheating! LOL

1. Name these two states. 

2. Which four states meet in the middle? (If you were to lay on your back like you do when making snow angels in the snow, a piece of you would be in each state.)

3. Which fort was accidentally built in Canada instead of the United States and referred to as “Fort Blunder?”

4. What was the original capitol of Illinois? (It had to be moved due to flooding by the mighty Mississippi River and now only has a population of 14.)

5. Which territory, located in the eastern part of now Tennessee, tried to become the 14th state of the United States, but most people have never even heard of it?

Think you know the states shapes? Click Here to take a quiz and test yourself. I got an F+! LOL

Most people have little trouble with Texas’ shape. But did you know that when Texas was annexed in 1845, it retained the right to fly its flag at the same height as the national flag. Or that The Dr. Pepper Company is the oldest major manufacturer of soft drink concentrates and syrups in the United States? Created and sold in 1885 in Waco, Texas it has become a worldwide Texas favorite.  I had no idea, but I love my Dr. Pepper!

Now it’s your turn. 🙂 What’s an interesting fact about your state that people might not know?

Click here to check your answers to the five questions above. Thanks for playing!  😉

17 Responses

  1. #2 is the only one I know: New Mexico, Colorado, Arizona, and Utah.

    State shapes? Never was very good at that, but I see I need to brush up a little!

    GREAT quiz, Melissa!

  2. **Tess raises her hand** “Uh, when did you mention there would be a test today?”

  3. Oh man, feeling inadequate at 5 am on a Monday. Uh, thanks, Melissa. I know the 4 state one, and I have a photo of me, my butt in 4 states at once (I know, you’re not surprised that’s possible, given my butt.)

    If you’re from Michigan, like me, it’s easy. Everyone shows you where they live by holding up their hand, and pointing to the spot!

    Just one more (so I’m not the only one feeling like an idiot this morning) did you know that thanks to the coastline, that Reno Nevada is farther West than Los Angeles?

    Crazy, huh?

  4. Someone needs to make a trivia game board on this kinda material, I would buy it. I enjoy these kind of fun facts. Funny Melissa, I also wondered how they made state lines and borders, all before satellites and sophisticated technology. I’m looking up that show, “How the States Got Their Shape”.

    I know what my kids will be doing this afternoon (taking that Quiz).

    • LOL Terri! Please don’t tell them I’m the reason they have new homework!! Surveyers, or Scientists as they called them, actually used the stars and chains they would lay down between points. The points were stones and they still remain in their locations even today! So cool! 🙂

  5. I got 9 out of 10 on the shapes. I thought Massachusetts was Connecticut:-D We travel a lot and I’m usually the map reader. Like Laura, we have a family picture with each of us standing in a different state at the Four Corners. Your other questions are tough! Gonna have to record that show and watch it!

    Thanks for a fun post!

  6. Love this, and that show sounds really interesting. I got Idaho right away, but my son pointed out that the second silhouette was Maryland. Sad, since I live right next door to it, but I’ve never seen it pulled out like that. I did get a B on the state shape quiz though, so I guess I’m doing okay.

    I’ve been to four corners, so that was easy. I too have a photo of me sitting on it. 😉

    Virginia’s been a cool place to live because all of the history is so closely intertwined with US history. Jamestown, Williamsburg, the homes of Washington, Jefferson, and Madison, the Civil War sites, and our proximity to DC. There are so many interesting things about VA, I don’t know where to start!

    • See, if they were to ask me about the states bordering Texas, I might do a little bit better, Gwen. LOL I’ve been as far as North Carolina on that side of the U.S. So want to take a road trip up that way and see all that wonderful history first hand. 🙂

      Great job on the Quiz! I’m going to study hard and take it again. 😉

  7. I know the ‘four corners’. Nevada, Arizona, Utah, New Mexico. As for the other…

    I don’t suppose Idaho and ‘one of those puny little east coast states’ is sufficient?

  8. Fun stuff! I knew your state silhouettes and half of the four corners states, but hadn’t even heard the questions for the others on the trivia! 🙂

    I took the state shape quiz and got an F the first time, but was pissed at myself because I kept second-guessing and not picking my first choice. I took it again, slower (different states, of course), and got an A with only 1 wrong. Phew! 🙂

    There’s a game out there somewhere that has you place all the states in their correct spots on the map, and times you. You have very little margin for error. I spent hours doing it!

  9. that was fun! and I got 8/10 right on the quiz 🙂

    I’ve been to the 4corners. from what I remember it’s kind out in the middle of nowhere, there’s some concret and flags LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

