Help Me Design My House!

Sorry for the late post. My sweet hubby let me sleep until almost 10 a.m.! I/We were exhausted and here’s why. Maybe you’ve noticed I haven’t been around for the past week or so. That’s because we made a “quick” run to Florida last Sunday. I thought we’d be gone a couple of days. Instead, we were gone over a week. For the last couple of years we have been toying with the idea of getting a second home in Florida. This past week, we did! Or at least we put down earnest money with closing scheduled for August 17. Now I have some major redecorating/updating to do! This is where you come in. I need some help with colors. Interested? Great. Let’s start with the kitchen.

 

 

The countertops have to go! I don’t want granite. Too expensive for a second home. The cabinets are called “pickled” in color but think maple. Pretty light.

 

I need to paint the walls and replace the counters. Give me some color suggestions. Β What do you think about glass mosaic tiles on the wall above the counters?

Hubby wants to make this a Β “Florida-flavored” house. I guess “Key West” decor is the closest thing I can come to.

So help!

20 Responses

  1. Very Nice. I know when we moved into our house the first thing we did was painting and updating – it’s a lot of work but the end result is so nice and it makes the place feel more like you.

    Kitchens are something we talk about a lot in our house because we want to redo ours. I love the darker cabinets and granite countertops. I love the mosaic tiles too and would love to have those on the walls as a back spash – they also make a beautiful countertop.

    Congrats on the new “winter” home. You know we miss you while you are gone πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations on the purchase, Cyndi!

    I am sooo bad at this, and I’ve only been to Key West once, but hey, I’ll play! I think glass mosaic tiles would be great, and I’m thinking some kind of pale green for the countertops (not a solid color, though, one of those mottled combinations of multiple shades) with yellow and green for the tiles and then a complimentary yellow for the rest of the walls. Since it’s a small space, nothing too bright or dominant, and all in the same family of shades.

  3. Palm trees, flip flops, a parrot or two, and Jimmy Buffet on the iPod.

    Welcome to the Sunshine State! Where in Florida are you? I’m North Central.

  4. What about teals? They are sort of Florida colors. I’ve seen some very nice mosaic glasss tiles for a back splash. The clear ones mixed in would look great with teal. Whatever you pick you need to a 3 color pallet. Even if white is one of the choices. Then you can highlight with one of the colors more. Looks cute. Currently in Florida.

  5. I can’t tell anything by the pictures. I’ll need to go down there. Stay for like 3 or 4 weeks to get a feel of it.

    You’re close to the beach, right?

    my plans for the day I get to decorate a home include hauling our Liz Talley around with me. she has a great eye for color. Her home is so pretty and just flows!

  6. Congrats. Super news.

  7. Oh man, if you don’t want visitor’s eyebrows around their hairlines, you don’t want MY decorating advice! If you think this kitchen is awful, you’re never invited to my house – I thought it was cute!

    My husband subscribes to the “No dirt floors? Roof doesn’t leak? I’m good” school of home decoration, and I have to admit, I’m not far behind him. I’ll settle for clean, and uncluttered.

    Send us photos when you’re done!

    • Your hubby sounds like mine! LOL But only when it comes to house cleaning. I swear the man can walk past dust on the furniture over carpets that need to be vacuum and never see anything!

  8. Okay, I’ll play.

    I’d go with soothing tones of blue and green, accented with perhaps something a bit warmer, like a punch of wheat and sisal colors. I love yellow, but you have to be careful with yellow – it can wear on you after a while You might get a good deal on granite tiles because they’ve gone down in price considerably and they won’t chip. Places like Lumber Liquidators or Southern Salvage would be a good place to look for both back splash tiles and granite tiles. You could also get rid of the dated glass fronts and replace with something modern. And simple pewter pulls are the easiest update in a kitchen along with replacing light fixtures.

    I’d suggest grabbing a copy of Coastal Living for inspiration. Great decorators in those magazines that you can copy.

    I think bright Florida colors are lots of fun, but you could use those for accent peices rather than full-on frontal assault. I’d do a smooth neutral blue/green for the walls. Just my opinion. You asked πŸ˜‰

    • Here’s a link to the Costal Living website and a page that has the colors I was envisioning…and I might need to do what keri said. Come down and get a feel for it. LOL
      http://www.coastalliving.com/homes/decorating/25-comfy-cottage-rooms-00400000065404/page12.html

    • Great suggestions. I think you might be right about the yellow.

      I have a marble tiled kitchen here in Arkansas. I despise tiled counters. The grout is a PITA. Seriously. Stains and discolors.

      Lowe’s has a granite for $33 sq/ft installed. Great price but still, we’re talking about $2400 or so for the counters for a second house. Too much for a park home. I’m thinking laminate for the counter tops. There are some great ones, plus, the advances in that product is impressive. I can do those for about $800 or so. I can use the saved $1000 in so many other places.

      Thanks for the magazine link. Heading over to check it out now.

      I’m thinking…ENALR retreat in Florida next summer! πŸ™‚

Show us some love and leave a comment!

